PattyOpinion

Musings on diets, weight loss and then some!

Basil Lemon Chicken

2 Comments

 

Basil Lemon Chicken

Basil Lemon Chicken

I wanted something light and summery tonight for dinner. The rest of my brood is having grilled burgers, and not that I do not LOVE a grilled burger, my preference is to keep it a bit on the lighter side tonight.

Cut to fresh basil! I have to admit that I keep putting my basil infused fingers to my nose as I type out my recipe. It’s just so mmmmm!

Our neighbors are on vacation and granted us permission to pick their tomatoes as well, so I know what is on my menu for this evening.

Basil Lemon Chicken. I know it’s usually called Lemon Basil Chicken, but I’m going heavy on the basil. I’ll be serving it with my neighbors vine ripened tomatoes garnished with, let me think… basil!

Enjoy

Fresh basil from the yard. Smells and tastes delicious!

Fresh basil from the yard. Smells and tastes delicious!

Ingredients:

One 4 ounce boneless, skinless chicken breast.

Marinade
1  tablespoons fresh chopped basil, or 1 tablespoon dried basil leaves
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 cloves garlic, chopped or garlic powder to taste.
fresh basil or fresh parsley for garnish

 

 

 

 

Let’s Do This: 

Put chicken breast between inside a zip lock sturdy storage bag; gently pound to even thickness for even and quick cooking, but go ahead and give a wallop if you’ve had a tough day.

Combine marinade ingredients in a bowl and provided you did not puncture your bag while pounding, add your marinade to the chicken.

Refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours.

Spray a little olive oil on to a  grill pan, grill rack, or broiler pan. Arrange chicken on hot pan or rack and grill or broil for about 10 to 12 minutes, turning often. Serve with vine ripened tomato and basil salad.

Forget about all of those chemical filled cooking sprays. Fill a Misto cannister with good quality olive oil.  Purchase at My Amazon Store.

Forget about all of those chemical filled cooking sprays. Fill a Misto canister with good quality olive oil.
Purchase at My Amazon Store.

Servings: 1

Calories:  260

Carbs:      0

 

Author: Patti Opinion

Nutritional counselor and advocate for the LCHF lifestyle. You do not have to sacrifice flavor, and variety to live a low carb lifestyle.

2 thoughts on “Basil Lemon Chicken

  1. This recipe looks and sounds delicious! Adding it to my recipes. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

Share Your Opinion